Some Investors are keen to buy Women’s IPL in 2023

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to make a global T20 league for female cricketers along the lines of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in form of the Women’s IPL.

Five IPL franchises – Delhi Capitals (DC), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and Punjab Kings (PBKS) have informed the BCCI of their wish to field a women’s team.

The BCCI has got BUMPER INTEREST for the Women IPL Media Rights Tender. The tender purchase date ended on December 31. According to BCCI officials, more than ten parties with Disney Star, Sony Network, and Viacom18 have picked the tender document. The interested parties will have to submit their CLOSED BIDS by January 12. Post the media rights tender, BCCI will sell the WIPL Franchises. The inaugural season of WIPL 2023 is likely to be played from March 3 to 26: 

Alternatively, teams of WIPL can be sold after matches may take place at a venue that currently hosts IPL matches. Those big cities include Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, and Mumbai. After the initial announcement of Women’s IPL.It can be widely reported that IPL owners will get the first right of refusal over buying teams.

Odisha Cricket Association secretary Sanjay Behera, in his bit to The New Indian Express (TNIE) on, in the past, our State had Kalinga Lancers, a team for Hockey India League at present. The State owns Odisha Juggernauts kho kho team. The State also supported Odisha FC, The team in ISL League. I am very much aggressive that we will also have our cricket team in W-IPL.

Increase in overseas cricketers for Women’s league

Each team can have no more than five overseas cricketers in the playing eleven.

To have a good balance of domestic & international players and to have competitive teams. It has decided to have five teams for WIPL. Each team can comprise a maximum of eighteen players whereas, no team can have more than six overseas players.

Further, no more than five overseas players. Four from Full Members of the ICC. One of the Associate Members of the ICC – can be part of the playing XI of each team, read the BCCI note.

The Big Bash League in Australia and The Hundred in the UK do not allow more than three overseas players and have a squad size of 15.

That is an overall increase of 111% in the participation of players in various categories in the last eight years.



we are publishing daily trending news update with good quality content.

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *