Gujarat polls final round: Voting beings across 93 seats; PM Narendra Modi votes in Ahmedabad

PM Narendra Modi votes in Ahmedabad

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2022 Voting Updates (December 5, 2022): The second and final phase of voting for the Gujarat Assembly elections started at 8 am on Monday in 93 constituencies across 14 districts in the central and northern regions of the state. A total of 833 contenders from 61 political parties, including Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is contesting the polls in these Assembly segments spread across Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Gandhinagar, Banaskatha, Mehsana, Vadodara and other districts.

Among the political kingpins who voted early on Monday morning were Union Minister Amit Shah, UP Governor Anandiben Patel, and Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel were among the star voters to cast their votes in the second phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections. The Prime Minister cast his vote at a polling station set up at a high school in Ranip locality in Ahmedabad. Union Home Minister and BJP MP Amit Shah will exercise his franchise at a municipal sub-zonal office in the Naranpura locality of the city. A voter turnout of 4.75 per cent was recorded until 9 am in phase two of Gujarat’s assembly elections, as per the Election Commission.

After the first phase of voting for 89 seats in Saurashtra, Kutch and south Gujarat regions held on December 1, voting will be held for the remaining 93 seats in the 182-seat assembly. According to the state election commission, the nominees also include 285 independents. In the December 1 phase 1 polling, an average voter turnout of 63.31 per cent was recorded.

Of many prominent candidates in the fray in the second phase of Gujarat, polls are three young faces — Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakor and Jignesh Mevani — who had played a key role in shaping the history of the 2017 state Assembly elections. Although even this time they are considered “star candidates” of their parties, the three leaders have largely remained confined to their respective constituencies for what is being called their “battles of prestige”.

Firebrand Patidar leader Hardik Patel is fighting for BJP at the Viramgam seat(Ahmedabad). Hardik, former Congress state working president had walked out of the grand old party earlier this year and is an important candidate for the BJP. Patel is up against Congress Rajya Sabha MP Amee Yagnik.

In the Gandhinagar South seat, Alpesh Thakor is fighting for the BJP. The Maninagar constituency in Ahmedabad. Congress candidate is CM Rajput and the AAP’s Vipulbhai Patel.

Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani is challenging as the Congress candidate from the Vadgam seat in Banaskantha district, and Leader of Opposition in the Gujarat Assembly Sukhram Rathva is the candidate from Jetpur in Chhota Udepur district.



we are publishing daily trending news update with good quality content.

Recommended Articles


  1. Быстровозводимые здания – это новейшие конструкции, которые отличаются повышенной скоростью строительства и гибкостью. Они представляют собой здания, образующиеся из заранее созданных деталей или же узлов, которые способны быть скоро установлены в пункте застройки.
    Строительство производственных зданий из сэндвич панелей располагают гибкостью также адаптируемостью, что позволяет легко изменять и переделывать их в соответствии с запросами заказчика. Это экономически продуктивное и экологически устойчивое решение, которое в крайние лета заполучило широкое распространение.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *